Arve Henriksen & Elling Vanberg

Born in 1968, Arve Henriksen studied at the Trondheim Conservatory from 1987-1991, and has worked as a freelance musician since 1989. He has worked with many musicians familiar to ECM listeners, including Jon Balke Magnetic North Orchestra, Anders Jormin, Edward Vesala, Jon Christensen, Marilyn Mazur, Audun Kleive, Nils Petter Molvær, Misha Alperin, Arkady Shilkloper, Arild Andersen, Hilmar Jensson, Skuli Sverrisson, Stian Carstensen, Dhafer Youssef, Sidsel Endresen, Christian Wallumrød, Nils Økland, Per Oddvar Johansen, Gjermund Larsen, Svante Henryson, Mats Eilertsen, Stian Westerhus, David Sylvian, Jon Hassell, Hope Sanduval, Laurie Anderson, Eivind Aarset, Erik Honoré, Trio Mediaeval, Toshimaru Nakamura, Trygve Seim Orchestra, Jan Gunnar Hoff, Giovanni Di Domenico, Tatsuhisa Yamamoto, Gavin Bryars, John Potter, Teun Verbruggen, Imogen Heap, Kari Bremnes, Jannis Anastasakis, Lars Danielsson, Tigran Hamasyan, the Cikada String Quartet, The Source and many more. He has played in many different contexts, bands and projects, ranging from working with koto player Satsuki Odamura, to the rock band Motorpsycho via numerous free improvising groups with Ernst Reisiger, Sten Sandell, Peter Friis-Nilsen, Lotte Anker, Terje Isungset, Marc Ducret, Karl Seglem etc.. Today he is working with Supersilent, and various settings including Jan Bang, Audun Kleive, Helge Norbakken, Stian Westerhus and Ingar Zach.

He has composed music to Balejazz, Vossa Jazz, "My own private furry" (dance performance) and to "FRED" (theatre performance). He has made music for films and documentary programs. He was artist in residence at Moers Jazzfestival 2006 and he has been a part of the European Jazz Launch project 2004-2006. He was the artist in residence at Molde Jazz Festival 2009. He has received Radka Toneffs Minnepris, Norsk Jazzforums Buddy Award, Paul Acket Award at North Sea Jazz Festival and DNB and Kongsberg Jazzfestival´s Musician Award 2011. He has been nominated to Nordisk Råds musikkpris in 2009 and also nominated to European Jazz musician of the year 2009. He has a long discography counting over 140 records in total.